Help a WordPresser Out! (Gratuities accepted, but that is not the purpose of this post)


Greeting WordPress Community,

This is an open letter of sorts, and also somewhat of an attempt to rediscover why I created this blog in the first place. As some have already noticed, my activity online has sharply declined over the years. I am surely not the only one exhibiting such a trend. However, I fondly remember a time when WordPress was much more stimulating, engaging and even downright exciting. A new like, a good comment, a share, and so on, all seemed so novel. But beyond any novelties was the fact that I seemed to a part of something, a part of a greater whole – WordPress and my small circle of active followers seemed like a fairly tight knit community, and I grew to thoroughly enjoy hearing from various bloggers on a semi-regular basis. This is perhaps the “Golden Age” for the life of my site.

What happened? Now WordPress seems dead! There is little activity, even if I compose what used to be a discussion spurring post. This, in turn, de-incentivizes my productivity on here. I find myself making posts with less and less frequency, to the point where a few days, to a week or more, might pass and I have yet to logon to my site once. Overall, the trend is taking me to the point of questioning whether or not I should bother to keep up with my account on any level. I do not see myself deleting my account totally, but there is no longer any excited anticipation about logging on, expecting some likes and comments and perusing WordPress for forty minutes or so. These days same to be a thing of the past, and is a bid sad for me. I thoroughly enjoyed the life of an amateur writer “publishing” my own work online and garnering feedback.

Does anyone else share my sentiment? What words of advice might you suggest? I realize this is a personal decision, and I would like to revitalize my WordPress experience, but is this feasible? Is WordPress truly dead?

PLEASE, share your thoughts, I would love to hear some opinions on the subject matter. ALSO, if there is a new platform people have been migrating over to, I would love to know!

Cheers,

-Paul

25 thoughts on “Help a WordPresser Out! (Gratuities accepted, but that is not the purpose of this post)”

  1. I saw it slow down for a while but now I’m seeing it pick up again. I have done a few of the meet and greets and it seems like there are a growing number of people who are reaching out and wanting to interact. You can work for applause or work for a cause. Sometimes it teeters between both. I would give it one more honest attempt but my 2 cents isn’t worth much πŸ™‚

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Well, like I said, I don’t see myself scraping everything, but I might take a vacation for month or more. I just feel like a lot of bloggers either no longer are on the site, or are not active, as my group of “regulars” is all but forgotten.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m sorry to hear you’re feeling a bit down about WordPress. I’ve only been blogging for less than a year, so I’m not really qualified to say whether the amount of activity has been going up or down.

    I do have some frustrations with blogging, but perhaps not quite the same ones as yours. When I first started, I was basically talking to myself. Gradually I’ve made friends and I’ve found plenty people willing to interact. I enjoy both writing my own blog and reading and commenting on other people’s, but I just find it so difficult to do both.

    From my perspective, the biggest problem is not a lack of people who want to talk, but a lack of time to talk. What to do about this? I’m not sure. I’ve been thinking lately that perhaps sleep is overrated.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ha no, in the very beginning, which can be the longest/hardest part, is gathering followers from the various corners of WordPress. This is an ever-evolving process, so try not to “think big” numbers right now, and exercise patience. Commenting on others’ posts is probably the best way to garner some new attention as WordPressers tend to be reciprocal. Just appreciate every interaction for what it is and for being part of a larger whole.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      -Paul

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks for the tips. I think I can understand the reciprocity of bloggers because give and take isn’t only WordPress. That’s just life. People writing blogs more or less by definition want to be heard, not merely treated as a captive audience.

        Anyway, I’m enjoying it all, but I do need longer days.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I haven’t been on WP for too long but feel a bit of a renaissance too as far as community. In the past month I have more comments, likes and follows than any other time in the past year. The community is there but you may need to reach out again to find a new community. Hoping you don’t give up if this is something you truly enjoy.

    Like

  4. I’ve been logging for just over 2 years with some quiet weeks or months on occasion… I’ve discovered meet and greet blog party recently and found some new blogs to read and new readers for my blog. I will go look at your past posts. Don’t give up just yet!

    Like

  5. Things have slowed down too for me, but I am not too bummed out about it. I figure it is the end of the summer, people have other things going on, and blogging isn’t quite the priority. I know I have been slacking, but I am trying to get back into it, finding my friends that I lost track of over the summer. I think the community is there, but it is in a bit of a summer hibernation. The bloggers are out there and I think they will be back!!!!

    Like

      1. I sold out to the big man and bought one of WordPress’ premium designs. I love it. Thank-you for noticing – you are the only one that has said anything about it – well, besides my Dad. Thanks for the follow!!!!!

        Like

Leave a Reply

