Basketball, My First True Love


Yes, ladies and gents, my first true love was a strangely orange round ball.  Ever since I could hoist a small ball over the rim of a little tikes hoop I was hooked.  Basketball is like a drug I can never get too much of.  There is no way to holistically and accurately describe my longtime relationship with the game I so very much love. However, basketball is much more than just a game, BALL IS LIFE!  Honestly, I don’t know what I would do or where I would be without it!

Beyond just an athletic activity or way to exercise, basketball is responsible for meeting most of my friends, including my closest homeboy that has been living with me the past few months.  In fact, basketball is as much of a social tool to meet new people as it is a great way to sweat out some stress and also get a great workout all at the same time.  If I need to get my mind off of something, I go out and hoop.  If I am bored, I shoot around.  If I need to get my heart rate up, I find a pickup game.  You catch my drift here?

Back when the NBA was worth tuning in for, those guys were my heroes.  It was like what cartoons like Superman are for most kids, NBA legends were for me.  I rocked jerseys, collected cards and watched games.  There was nothing like Sportscenter’s Top Ten during basketball season.  The monster jams, mean crossovers and buzzer beater shots were priceless.

In fact, I could edit the title to say my first and only true love, as I have yet to meet a girl that would even approach the same sentiment.  Hopefully someday!

Anyway, having a love like this I think is extremely important for one’s sanity.  I would probably have totally lost it a few times over if I did not have basketball there for me.  The ball never lies and also like a dog it will always be there for you – begging you to play and loving you unconditionally if you do (or even if you don’t).  There is nothing better than long, late summer nights playing endless pickup games until nobody has any gas left in the tank.

Ball up!!

-Paul

2 thoughts on “Basketball, My First True Love”

Leave a Reply

