2013: A Personal Odyssey


I thought 2012 would be “my year,” but, well, basically that did not happen.  New Years is kinda silly, but I guess it offers some sort of excuse to make “resolutions” although this, for me, is much more than that.  I need not keep putting this off, and now that I am in break between transferring schools (i.e. I graduated from my local community college and I am not transferring right away for Spring, but rather for Fall 2013), I have no “good excuse” not to help myself out here.  Hence tomorrow will be the day I call to make The Appointment – which is capitalized for a reason.  As I have just said, I really thought 2012 was going to be my year.  Actually, I have a note from a nice friend of mine who wrote “2012 – your year” or something like that and signed it, which hangs right on my door.  Although I might need to edit the last 2 to a 3, the message remains the same.  You see, last year, roughly around this time, I was in a sort of bad place, mentally speaking, and in other regards as well.  However, I came across a book, a wonderful book that gave me some hope for the first time in a long time.  If I recall correctly, I had attempted to ween off of all my medications but to make a long story concise, it was not successful.  This was, to put it nicely, a real bummer.

To fast forward a year, I am closer than ever to my goal, which is really much more than just a goal, but I am unsure of what better word to use at the moment.  So yes, my goal is, in some ways, one phone call away – and that phone call I will make tomorrow.  I am actually not sure why I am even bothering to post this, but maybe this will just be an attempt to get me back into the writing groove.  A little something is better than nothing right?

 

-Paul

9 thoughts on “2013: A Personal Odyssey”

  1. Agreed – a little something better than nothing! 2013 will be a good year; I am positive and usually I am not as a new year commences! Hope all goes well with the phone call. Speak soon!
    Bex 🙂

    Like

      1. Cool, that is a step forward!!!! Good for you!!

        Yes, thanks I did; it was quieter than usual, but a good change. Hope you did too??

        Bex 🙂

        Like

      2. Yes, that will be good; I plan to do some more posts. It is a public holiday here in Madrid tomorrow – so another day free to hopefully catch up!

        Bex 🙂

        Like

      3. Awww, thanks that is good to hear! Funnily enough I have completed a post just this minute – it is ready to be read!!!

        Bex 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

