The Unethical Marketing of Antidepressants as a Medical Cure for Depression – Introduction


There are numerous ethical issues in modern day America, and a major one that is not yet much talked about is that of the use and distribution of antidepressants. The rate at which these “medicines” are being described is, needless to say, atrocious, disheartening and, no irony intended, sad. This epidemic needs to stop, and I am not talking about the “illness” named depression, but rather the real illness of doctors and other prescribers who dole pills out like candy. There are countless problems with the very idea of mental illness, first and foremost is if such a thing even exists, at least on any sort of physical level. In other words, the “experts” have yet to prove there is any sort of physical abnormality that causes illness therefore making the entire mental illness field questionable at best. To make matters worse, drug companies spend millions to billions annually on their notorious marketing strategies and campaigns. This includes both advertisement directed to professionals and directly to consumers themselves. This means that medical advice is essentially being given over television sets to laypersons with little to no background in such a field, yet are sought after as if they can legitimately self-diagnose. Likewise, regular people come enter doctor’s offices convinced they are depressed before uttering a word to the supposed professional. To further complicate the issue, increasingly more general practitioners willingly prescribe heavy duty “medications” for an extended or even indefinite period of time with only a ten to fifteen minute consultation with the patient. This sort of practice is inexcusably wrong on two fronts: one being the entire field of psychiatry is illegitimate, and secondly even if the field holds some truth, generally speaking regular doctors have little background or experience in treating the incredibly complex psychiatric issues. I personally would argue that psychiatry is some sort of twisted joke, as there is no solidified proof at all that depression is a medical illness. This is not to mention that the experts are not even sure how the very drugs that they prescribe work. The entire field is based solely on theory which means there is no scientific proof like that which backs other legitimate illnesses.

23 thoughts on “The Unethical Marketing of Antidepressants as a Medical Cure for Depression – Introduction”

  1. Hey Paul,
    Great post!! You did put the questions to good use! Agree with you 100%
    Sorry I have been a little absent on WP recently, I felt I was being taken over by it slightly!! I am back and commenting freely!!!!!!
    Bex 🙂

    Like

    1. THANK YOU! no need to apologize, we all wax and wane over time. glad to see youre back though!

      Actually I have sort of been MIA with the commenting myself hence why I have yet to get back to some of your recent ones. I will get there!!

      Good to hear from you, as always!

      -Paul

      Like

      1. Hey Paul. Good to hear from you! Yeah, I have had so much going on too. It has been manic lately, and I hate neglecting anything, so it has been a guilt trip for me!!
        Thanks for the thanks, no problem!!!!!!
        OK then, well I’ll look forward to reading and replying to your comments on my posts!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

        Oh, Facebook is up and running. I have no link to it via my blog page yet. Still figuring that one out, doh! Here is the link though so you can have a look and email me!!!!!

        http://www.facebook.com/TheSavvySenorita

        Muchas gracias!!!

        Bex 🙂

        Like

      2. Very cool! I will check this out for sure! And Ill try my best to catch up on the commenting business! Sometimes I get sidetracked with everything else going on.

        PEACE!

        -Paul

        Comments are a comin’!

        Like

      3. OK, well, the link from my blog is sorted out now, phew! I have a few likes already, yeah!!!!!
        I understand, I do too, as the weekend is coming up I’ll no doubt try to take another break myself. I feel the addiction to writing and typing slowly creeping up on me again!

        Take care and speak soon,
        Bex 🙂

        Like

      4. NICE! i just made a couple of comments by the way! Look forward to the responses!

        And I am about to add one more “like” to the facebook page!!

        -Paul

        Like

      5. Hey,
        I have read and replied 🙂 I must thank you for your input on my posts, I enjoy reading your responses to my work and the discussion it creates. That is what makes writing worth while for me!!!! Thank you!!!!
        I have seen the FB like too, thank you for that. I have responded to your message also.

        Bex 🙂

        Like

      6. No problem, I love and value topics, and the bloggers who truly get my brain and emotions churning. I think some miss the point of writing a post = discussion, ideas and opinions from the reader. I value your value of this!!!!!!!!
        We are indeed virtually connected!!!

        Bex 🙂

        Like

  2. Okay, I definitely feel the need to comment on this.
    Being directly involved in the system, as a patient, I can highlight many flaws. They diagnosed me as bipolar (2) and having a borderline personality disorder. Now, I’m not one to think that mental illness is some make believe thing. I know from experience and witnessing what others have gone through, that it is a very real thing. On the contrary, I don’t think, or rather, I know that a pill won’t solve all of our problems. I have noted a great difference in my behaviour on and off medication. I have both antidepressants and mood stabilisers to take. When I’m not on meds, I’m more impulsive and irrational etc. My thoughts also feel really fuzzy and I don’t know what’s going on in my head; it’s as though everything is spiraling out of control. On medication, my thought process is logical and I can think clearly. However, sometimes I feel pretty dead on the inside. Sure, I’m not “depressed”, but I still don’t feel like I’m living, but rather just existing. It makes you feel kind of zombie-like sometimes. The topic of medication is something I have planned to blog about soon, but as I saw your post I felt like I needed to put my 2 cents in. What I really hate though is that my doctor didn’t give me the choice. He made it out to seem as though as I have to take this poison. Recently I’ve kind of boycotted the whole psychiatry system to prove that I don’t need a pill to make me feel better. Surely, some can argue that on meds my behaviour is better and emotions easier to control, but at the same time, I believe that there are other ways to battle the illness of the mind. It just seems like some conspiracy to me the way they dish out diagnosis and prescribe pills. It’s like the pharmaceutical companies and psychiatrists had this all planned out. The irony of it all is that depression is a side effect of the very antidepressants they give us *laughs* Ugh… it is a bit ridiculous.

    Like

    1. Hey thanks for stopping by and leaving a very thoughtful comment. Agreed I too believe medications are not the best but sometimes may be a necessary evil, at least temporarily. I strongly believe that the psych system needs major reforms. The patient should also be in charge and realize they always have the option to opt for a drug free way of treatment. However I too have experienced much of the same from various doctors I have seen over the years. I definitely believe the least medicated way of treatment is best. Don’t even get me started on the side effects which can be worse than the original issue in some cases. I hate the numbing effect which just makes me feel like a drug zombie. I encourage you to explore alternatives to medicinals especially diet and exercise which can make a tremendous difference. Also social relationships are key to a healthy and happy life.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Exactly… medication isn’t everything. It is only part of the process, and if necessary, it should only be used in the short term while we learn of alternatives that can benefit us in the long term. I am trying to find other ways of coping that doesn’t come in the form of a pill. It’s actually one of the reasons why I started my blog. When I’m finished expressing myself, I tend to feel significantly better. Of course, working on improving my interpersonal communication skills and having healthy relationships with people is another thing that’s been keeping me going. I firmly believe that in the end, we wouldn’t have to rely on this medication and that we have the power within us to overcome it all.

        Your blog is really interesting and I look forward to reading more of your posts ^^

        Like

      2. Truth. Ultimately medications are just a crutch. Thanks I hope you stop by frequently. I have enjoyed our conversations and wish to continue to be in touch. I look forward to reading more of your work as well!

        Like

    1. Hey thanks, it was a good read for sure! I just left ya a comment on that post.

      I just got home from North Carolina – Wilmington to be exact – for a college visit. I will be attending UNC-Wilmington this Spring so I finally got to see the campus.

      Hope you are well too!!

      -Paul

      Like

  3. Thanks for taking a read 🙂

    Ooh la la… tour of campus, must have been exciting to see everything become more real huh? I wish you all the best of luck when the semester starts. *hugs* For me, my university is nothing special with it being like a default thing in my country (UWI – St. Augustine… but shhh, trying to be all anonymous lol). Plus I’ve been on that campus a million times before even starting university, so I never got a tour. Well, not an official one at least. Played the role of lost freshman to get cute guys to show me around XD How sneaky of me lol.

    Out of curiosity is there any way to communicate with you outside of comments? I’ve been trying to figure that out for the longest while lol. Well until next time, take care!

    xoxo
    – Nicky

    Like

Leave a Reply

