RE: Humanity


So how much longer are we going to pretend like everything if just fine. A-okay?  I for one am sick of this illusion people claim to be reality.  Excuse my French, but this is BULLSHIT!  I am not just talking about left or right preference, I am talking about the extinction of the human race – or at least 90+ percent of it!  Does that grab your attention?

I live in America okay – and so far I have lived a pretty comfortable, sheltered life.  I grew up in a one square mile town.  I think you get the idea.  But I am not ignorant, not in the sense that I claim or act like I “know it all,” but rather I have some sort of intelligent understanding of how the world “works.”  I use quotation marks because the world fails more than it works.

Think about the current events – just the real factual information that is so seldom reported on what most people consider the news.  This world is pretty disgusting right now.   People die daily all over the world from lack of food or water or shelter – the basics.  Why?

There is war and conflict that cause countless unnecessary hardships up to and including death for again countless people.  Why?

This is all without mentioning those who maybe barely “get by” but ought to be living with a basic sense of security and confidence.  Why?

Why?

Do most people even so much as to bother to ask themselves or others this very simple question?  Or how about asking the politicians, the policymakers, those who are supposedly “in charge” or represent “the people” and “their interests?”  How in the world can a sane man claim America is a democracy when a sizable portion of the population probably cannot even accurately describe and explain what a democracy even is – or better yet, show how America exemplifies one – ha, good luck with that!

Really though?  Why are people so complacent?  Why do so many accept joblessness or working a meaningless shift 9-5 to barely earn enough to pay the bills to be able to live in the apartment in town close to work?  WTF?!?

I am mad, I really am.  I am 21 years old and I see a not so promising future for my generation.  People simply do not bother to give a shit, about real issues in real time affecting everyone including themselves.  Why?  How?  When did everyone stop giving a damn?  I give two damns, but that does not make up for the X number of others who could really care less.

I don’t even have words, I could really get furious over this, and probably will at some point but I just do not understand how people are seemingly “okay” with the state of the world today and the direction in which it is heading.

WHY?!?

-Paul

 

16 thoughts on “RE: Humanity”

  1. Honey, I am 26 years old. I laughed at Clint Eastwood’s speech, because he delivered something I needed to hear, a passion for a future in this wasteland. I HATE Mitt Romney, “go ask your parents for more money for college,” #OMG I am confounded by the outright lies of Barak Obama, who I love as a person, but have no interest in voting for. America is shit on a shingle, excuse my French as well… Merde! But with a two-party system and a pledge on my life to vote as a Black American Woman, I’m headed to the polls to vote Independent this year, which won’t matter as we slip into a Greater Depression than the one that followed 1929’s stock market Crash. Another Wall St. highlight! So, let’s try to keep writing and thinking, and working for peace, as the world has gone mad me thinks…. 🙂

    Like

  2. Thanks for your great post! Most people feel the same, I guess. Wherever I have been so far, the injustice is everywhere and especially, our generation is confused and afraid about what’s going on. It is a first step to notice it and to make it public.

    Like

    1. Thank you for the comment! I think there are those who just dont care, those who kinda care but are confused, and then those like me who (really) care but are still somewhat unsure of what to do – on a larger scale or one of which would manifest real change.

      Best,

      -Paul

      Like

  3. Though I’m from the UK, I still have the pleasure of being exposed to Fox news. Man that thing is a breeding ground for stupidity. The stuff they talk about, half of which is shamelessly biased, the other half about nothing important ”Lindsay Lohan is a lesbian” – WHO CARES?! THERE ARE WORSE THINGS GOING ON.

    Like

      1. BBC news is my first port of call, usually. It is unbiased but the problem is their ”trying not to offend or upset anyone” policy results in their news seeming quite malnourished.

        A better source, in my opinion, is Aljazeera. A news channel based in Doha, Qatar. So perhaps with issues concerning the Arab League, they may be biased – though this personally doesn’t come across to me. Aljazeera aren’t afraid of reporting the news as raw as it needs to be so it is my preference.

        Otherwise, there’s a news paper here in the UK called ‘The Guardian’. Their articles are available online so I would suggest a read of that too.

        I also get news about human rights abuses from Amnesty International and Human Rights Watch. Though they can both get pretty graphic, but these things need to be said.

        Like

  4. Why is a hugely complex question… which I am slowly getting around to trying to answer on my blog (BTW, thank you for visiting and following)… for now I have this…
    Imagine the world (us) is in a broadcast area that has 2 basic frequencies (say like AM & FM)… One plays “give” all day long, the other plays “get”… each of us can tune into either one… most tune into get… that’s it in a nutshell.
    If you understand the previous then It follows the expression ‘give and take’ is actually wrong – it should be ‘give and accept’.
    …just a thought

    Like

    1. Thanks for the comment – I think what I am getting at is much deeper. It is as if people turned their “caring switch” to off or sleep or ignore and just go about their daily business with the “it is what it is” attitude feeling completely helpless about any given situation. This state is arguably what is at least partially responsible for destroying America – in my eyes anyway.

      Best,

      -Paul

      Like

      1. I think you are correct & I agree… but what you describe is actually the effect (the symptom)… what is cause? Why has the caring switch been turned off? I think that unless we look for the reason (the cause of the effect), we just go on doing what the (ineffective) medical establishment does – issue a pill and treat the symptom, while the underlying problem remains. How do we counteract this cause that has brought about this effect? How do we cure the patient – or better yet, prevent the disease?
        …just a thought

        Like

      2. I see what you’re saying, and I guess I am rather unsure as to what the root cause is. I am thinking of why, but I have yet to come up with any sort of satisfactory answer, at least not in my mind.

        I have some ideas of my own, but what do you think?

        Like

      3. Hmm… first, I’d be interested to hear what your ideas are, but since you asked…
        As I said, this is a rather complex issue… we need to look at each ‘layer’ (as in onion) of each individual and see why, peel back to next layer, see why, etc… the simple answer which can span across all layers is the broadcasting item from above comment (we listen and live ‘get’ instead of ‘give’)… OK, but why?
        First layer – self: because we are greedy… why? second layer – because we choose to be or have been conditioned to be… etc.
        I’ll stop there because I could write a book about this.
        Suffice to say that there are 2 forces in the world – good/bad. Each broadcasts. Those who listen to one or the other behave accordingly. They also influence those around them (who allow themselves to be influenced). Right now, the ‘dark’ force appears to be winning – which is why it is so important to be a part of the light (which I believe is also what julienmatei is getting at).
        Good for a start?

        Like

      4. That certainly is interesting. I think I sometimes tend to over-complicate things and overlook more basic or simpler explanations. The problem of good vs. evil is a classic example and as you say the evil or bad seems to be winning. I hold some concern of this being overly simplistic but its still a good example, especially when speaking about the why at large.

        As far as my thoughts go, I was thinking on much more of an individual basis, as I think the why varies from person to person, although your explanation suffices when generally speaking. I wish to even go a step further though.

        This starts to get into the problem of free will, which I have ideas but not answers per say.

        But as for my thoughts, I think it has much to do with conditioning more than anything else. This is not to say people cannot make better choices, but I think there are a lot of outside forces at work – and by no accident, i.e. propaganda. Those really in charge do not want a well informed, concerned, critical population. They want a herd of sheep, and sadly, that is, OVERALL, what they have got.

        And please, never feel like you have to hold back, write away! I will read and respond, even if its pages long.

        Best,

        -Paul

        Like

  5. Good vs. evil is ‘simplistic’ – but it is only one point on the spectrum (perhaps the double trunks of a tree)… the exploration of the roots and branches is more complex (& lots more work & fun too).
    Free will… very good point… free will is our (God given, or built by evolution, however you’d like to say it) ability to see for ourselves, to choose, to overcome the conditioning – The key is that we must choose to do so (choose to use our free will)… I think that unless a person is in some way ‘disabled’ it is up to each individual to realize they have free will and then their responsibility to use it… free will is not just a gift, it is also a responsibility of sorts.
    Long comments… thank you, but I also would like to share these thoughts with others, which means writing a post about something like this. But I’ll be happy to share quick answers as it is these types of discussions that stimulate my thinking and allow me to get a better idea of what it is people need.

    Like

Leave a Reply

