If I was to die today


If I was to die today, would tomorrow even exist?  I mean, I do believe in the future, but I am not sure if there is a Universal future upon which I can subscribe to accurately.  We create our own universes and the collection of consciousness forms the world.  I think?  But then again, I also think the world, at least the physical world, would very much continue on after human extinction, if and when that day is to come.  Now that presents a bit of a predicament, no?

I have always found it amazing to contemplate this sort of thing – well, namely, existence.  There are just so many questions I have.  Yet, I do understand some things, at least to a degree.  Now this gets into epistemology which is fun to ponder as well.  In short, I know that I do not Know.  I think I know some things, I know for sure there is much to learn and I also do not think I will be able to “learn it all.”  Is knowledge finite and regardless of your answer – what does one base their response on?  How do you know?  Or, rather, how do you Know?  Hmm.

Back to what I was originally planning to discuss was the idea of “live your life like each day is your last.”  I think this is a nice, even cute little phrase, but what does this in fact mean?  Can humans even understand death?  At least, before it occurs?  I, for one, do not – certainly not entirely.  Thereby, if one is unable to appreciate death, how can one live life as if they were going to die today or tomorrow?  Is this at all possible?  What is your reasoning?  How so?

I do think the notion is a nice one, but I wonder if it is at all practical.

Best,

-Paul

10 thoughts on “If I was to die today”

    1. Yes and no – I know who he is but I sadly do not possess any of his writings. Funny, I was just about to purchase his essential works the other day at my local bookseller.

      Like

      1. Good…when you have an honest urge to find out, formulating the right questions, you get answers.
        This is a “coincidence”, it means that Krishnamurti might give you some clarifying answers – check him on youtube and see…

        Like

  1. What is “tomorrow”?…

    Does Tomorrow exist, is Tomorrow a real entity?… Who “exists” and who dies…? Who wants to continue…?

    What is Knowledge…? What is it to learn that you don´t already know…? Wouldn´t it be better if you tried to un-know, yes, to un-learn…?

    Again…who lives and who dies…?

    You say:

    “Can humans even understand death? At least, before it occurs?”

    If you want to understand what death is about, – or what LIFE is about – you have to have the courage to “die” now…to empty yourself wholly, completely; to let go of everything – which is not easy – to realize that you neither can “live” or “die”, that Life – that is, You – in the deepest sense, never dies.

    Yes, you are this imperishable Life. Ultimately it is not about me uttering this, you have to come to the point of feeling this Immediate Truth.

    Like

    1. This sounds very Buddhist, which is NOT a bad thing. I am intrigued by your words, and would like to further this discussion. How? That is my big question. I feel like I have the answer inside of me already, but how do I access it? How do I realize Truth? And how do I know if I am right? Or furthermore how do I think not of right versus wrong but only recognize what Is?

      I am very inexperienced when it comes to spirituality and even philosophy. Guidance please?

      One point I have a lot of trouble with is that of knowing – I value education very highly and I am unsure of what unlearning everything really means. Perhaps you could enlighten me? Or at least give me a better idea.

      Thank you very much for commenting! I am eager to continue to talk with you.

      Best,

      -Paul

      Like

      1. What I say probably sounds like many different things…What if we just ceased to label things, at least in this our dialogue…?

        It is not so much the question about ” How”, it is more about ” Why”.

        When Why is clearly stated, the How just comes by itself.

        It is not “you” realizing the truth,… Truth “realizes” you, truth has nothing to do with “right” or “wrong”…What is “right” or “wrong” at the end of the day…? Again, stop labeling and listen…

        When you listen, you allow the answer inside you to unfold itself. So linger and listen… you will recognize it beyond doubt…it is your very breath, even nearer…

        Experience has nothing to do with ” Knowledge”. It is good that you are inexperienced. Please remain that way 🙂

        You need no guidance…you are already guided. Imagine that these words might have been uttered by you through me.

        What is education at the end of the day? I am not playing with words pondering on this.

        “Unlearning” is dropping all notions about this or that…Not easy though…When all ideas are recognized as mere ideas, what is beyond ideas can manifest itself.

        I am sure,
        that you can take what I say, although you might not be “used” to this way of expressing things.

        I bow,

        Julien

        Like

Leave a Reply

