What to do?


I feel, at least at times, I have a personal, moral duty to act.  Act against the oppression, the atrocities, the hunger, the war, and so forth and so on.  I cannot speak for others, but I know I am not alone.  Thinking is not sufficient, although ideas can change the world, they must be put into action.  This is where many great ideas fail to succeed.  Ideas must also reach the right individuals, for what good is a life changing idea to a purely apathetic, disinterested person?

I hold the belief that the general public needs a rise in consciousness of the what is really happening in the world around them.  The world is not all that big anymore, according to Friedman it is “flat.”  At any rate, with modern technology we, individual persons, may communicate with each other in real time virtually across the world, 24/7/365.  That is amazing.  Much good can and ought to be done with this capability.  I am not denouncing face to face interaction, which is far more powerful, however, in order to bring people together in mass, to get the Word out of Truth, the internet is optimal.  We no longer need to rely on word of mouth per say, but rather we can utilize blogs, social media and other websites to promote knowledge of Truth for those so inclined – which SHOULD be everybody here on Earth.

Nevertheless, I sometimes seem to be complacent when all I really end up doing is writing some words on a blog that not many people frequent, or even know about for that matter, so at the end of the day, what AM I really doing, or further yet, accomplishing?

All I can really hope is that I am planting some seeds to grow, and perhaps this is all I can do for now.  I mean, of course I could potentially drop school and become a full time activist, but I am wary of doing so, even for such basic, practical reasons as to how in the world would I be able to just feed and clothe myself?

Then again, why not?  What do I have to lose that I have not lost already?

Any thoughts or comments would be appreciated!

Best,

Paul

4 thoughts on “What to do?”

  1. Hey Paul,

    You’re so very right. It’s never been easier to find out about suffering in the world and it’s never been easier to use to the internet to communicate and spread awareness, but as you say, people can be so apathetic, they don’t seem to care even though its staring at them right in the face. So it’s easy to see why you’d want to become actively involved, to at least offset this western apathy. The frustrating part is that it’s so hard to do this. It breaks my heart every time I watch a Youtube video of someone pleading with the world saying things like ”how much blood do we have to spill before people help us?”. I’d do anything for them, give up on my hopes and dreams and devote my life to helping them, I just don’t feel like I have anything to offer. I give to charity. I fundraise. I preach to everyone around but nothing seems to be enough. Most people give up at this point but you just have to keep doing what you’re doing and try and spread the word. Don’t give up on the people whose voices need to heard, they’re barely whispers as it is. It’s nice to see that I’m not the only one feeling like I need to do something.

    Natasha

    Like

    1. Thank you for the comment first of all, Natasha! No worries, I do not plan on stopping or ‘resting’ until the day that I am the one to die (hopefully of natural causes).

      In response, it is nice in a way to likewise see I am not alone in this way of thinking. There is so much I have to say on this topic, rest assured, more posts are soon to come. I just cannot understand how people simply live without giving a damn about one another. This just perplexes me. So what if he or she is Muslim, gay, whatever – we are all human beings. Is that not enough to care? I would classify this apathy as a potentially terminal epidemic. This is a disease. The cure is both simple yet, apparently, hard. People just need to wake up and stop living a lie. As far as doing something, I guess protests and writing are what I am going to stick to for now. I can only desire my work reaches a broader and more diverse audience. I honestly plan to spend my life to bettering humanity, whatever that really means, I guess I am not sure exactly.

      In short, thank you for stopping by, for giving a damn, and writing what you write. I hope we continue to chat in the future.

      Best,

      -Paul

      Like

      1. Have you got any idea what you’re going to do that’ll help people? Just out of curiosity. Are you a member of any human rights groups? I wandered along to my university’s Amnesty International society last year but I just got so swamped with university work that I just stopped going – it’s quite a lame excuse so I may go back. Also, what specific issues do you feel strongly about?

        I know, some people are just so incredibly ignorant and the disturbing part is that they choose to be that way. It doesn’t help that the media has a way of stripping people of their humanity and making everything politically charged. As if all people are political pawns rather than human beings. It’s no wonder that ”muslim” seems to be associated with ”extremist”. Completely dehumanises a whole group of people, most of whom are just normal people trying to lead normal lives and are persecuted themselves by these terrorist groups for being ”westernised”. I’m all for ‘rehumanising’ the human.

        …and of course, the apathy. Yes it requires a little bit of effort to snap out of it but we all have google and most people are literate, it’s no harder than illegally downloading tv shows or setting up a Facebook account.

        I went through a phase of thinking that people are just shit for allowing themselves to be so conditioned and ”sheeple”-like. I realise now that there is probably some good intentions there some where, they just don’t know how to channel it. So I’ll be sure to recommend your blog. The more people writing about this stuff, the more people will know that they need to care.

        Like

      2. I am not a member or any particular groups. I have be studying at a community college, which is not very vibrant in terms of activism to say the very least. however, upon transferring i hope to meet more like minded people and form groups, etc.

        As far as specific issues, its hard to say because there are just SO many – from ecological, to human rights to health and so on. Picking and choosing will not be easy if I indeed have to pick and choose.

        You raise an interesting point about the herd, the sheep, the ignorant masses or whatever you want to call them. There is a, quite effective, system in place that molds the masses into sheep. It is no accident apathy is such a rampant issue for that is just what the Establishment wants! Now, I also cannot completely forgive everyone for going along with the scheme so to speak, but there is definitely more than one factor that comes into play here.

        And thank you, I really appreciate you spreading the word, whether it be my blog or anyone else’s that is trying to rehumanize the humans!!!

        Thank you!

        Like

Leave a Reply

