The First Official Post


Okay so without further ado here goes my first real blog post.  I have so much to say that I do not know where I ought to begin or where to go so I apologize in advance for any rambling or tangents but I am new so bear with me.

I think a lot, I would suppose I qualify as an intellectual of sorts, or at least one day I hope to be.  I love learning, I value education very highly and I think knowledge and wisdom are virtues!

Because I am, what I will refer to as, AWAKE, I see and realize there is a lot wrong with this world.  There is a lot wrong with me in my personal life, as well as the country I live in (U.S.) and the planet at large that I live on.  Despite all of this I tend to have a general sense of faith in humanity and I am a strong believer in the ability of individuals and thus society to make progressive, positive change.  And change is what is needed, now perhaps more than ever.

I blast ignorance – although at times perhaps on a personal level more than out loud – but I think ignorance is nothing short of CANCER OF THE MIND.  That is my personal definition so please feel free to use it but just remember where you got it from and site that source.

I, unlike a lot of young people, like to read and do so often, on a daily basis.  I try to keep up with current events, domestic and international, but I do find it at times overwhelming and even difficult to understand.  I do not think I am alone in this predicament, however I like to be informed and I like to be correct.  Truth is one of the most highly valuable entities or qualities in my mind.  I love it, and I love finding it, although I wish things were not always so concealed or twisted.  But I guess that is the world I live in – for now.

 

As you can probably tell, I am all about CHANGE.  I see lots of work that needs to be done in order to create a free, open society in which humanity along with all other living things, and the environment from the Earth’s core to the biosphere can exist in harmony.  I highly recommend and agree with the primary premise of the documentary “Earthlings” which can be watched free of charge online by simply googling the name.  If you take a moment  to consider the overall, bigger picture we are all ultimately “of the Earth” or “Earthlings” so we need to utilize this premise as the foundation upon which to build society.  I do not think humans are for some reason of greater value then animals, et cetera, and why there seems to be a total disregard to the environment.  I do not consider myself and environmentalist by any means, but I have studied enough and have sufficient common sense to see that we are destroying mother nature and the vary planet we live on.

Throughout my writing and posts, change should appear clearly as a common, overarching theme.  I do NOT claim to “know everything” and I do not have an answer in 30 seconds or less for all real world problems.  I do however have a willingness to listen and learn in attempt to formulate at least part of an answer or feed ideas to promote further thoughts on how to better things.

I would love to meet some more like-minded people, as I have not found it easy to encounter thoughtful individuals willing to discuss worldly or even personal issues.  I am a very REAL person, if that makes sense – as in I am not fake, if I was a girl I would probably not wear makeup, and I do not participate in gossip.  I talk about real things with real people hoping for real results to real problems.  Yes I just used the word real four times in a row (feel free to laugh at my attempt at humor).

If nothing else, I hope to convey the message loud and clear that I want to promote and foster intelligent discussion about real issues (no matter how seemingly “big or small”).  I aim to meet some other bloggers and writers, as well as artists and other people that enjoy talking or expressing some of the same things that I do.  This is not to say we must share the same opinion nor do I want to confine my page by blocking others from bringing up new topics or points, but rather I want people to TALK – to me, to each other, to their friends, to their family, and whomever else.

So please, feel free to express yourself, I value your opinion as I would hope you do mine.  Let’s work together to make a better world, or at the very least a correctly informed one!!!

 

-P

4 thoughts on “The First Official Post”

  1. I am a realist, and as such I too see real problems in our world. I appreciate and welcome change also. I believe sometimes we need to crash and burn before change comes. I’m not saying that’s what’s going to happen, I’m just saying it’s a possibility.

    Like

    1. I see what you are saying, but I am unsure if the world can survive a “crash and burn” scenario. I think we need, as a people, need to do what we can to prevent that from happening. It’s bad enough as it is, in my opinion.

      Thanks for dropping by,

      -P

      Like

      1. We can’t always stop a runaway train, even though we’d like to.
        What suggestions do have for us, as a people, to stop this train from going off the cliff?

        Like

  2. Well my disclaimer is that I do not claim to know or have all the answers to save humanity from what some may call an imminent crash. But, that being say, the change needs to come from within , individuals need to look deep inside of themselves in search of answers to difficult questions that will greatly guide the formation of society. Individual change will grow to a collective movement once people realize they actually want a lot of the same things. I believe a rise in individual and collective consciousness is needed if change is ever to come. People need to start to CARE again, about themselves and others. There is a lot to be said about this, but apathy is literally killing us.

    So, basically people need to get their heads screwed on straight, start giving a damn, and maybe then the next step to actually caring will come. Once people start to care, they will be able to look inward and outward to formulate ways of coping with living on this planet with not only one another, but all the other life forms and environment at large as well.

    I might just make a post on this separately, I probably will at some point I am sure of it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

